Vanuatu


Geography

The Republic of Vanuatu is a state of Melanesia located in the south-west of the Pacific Ocean, in the Coral Sea. The archipelago is located 1,750 km east from Australia, 540 km north-west from New Caledonia, to the west of Fidji Islands and to the south of Solomon Islands.
Vanuatu is composed of 83 islands. The only two towns of the country are Port-Vila, the capital with 44,039 inhabitants (2009 census), located on Efate Island, and Luganville, with 13,156 inhabitants (2009 census), and located on the island of Espiritu Santo.
The total population of Vanuatu is 286,429 inhabitants (2016).

Some volcanic islands are still active, like the islands of Tanna with the Yasur volcano, Ambrym with the Marum and Benbow volcanos, and Aoba (Ambae) and Lopevi with the eponymous volcanos. Other volcanos are sleeping like the Garet Mount on Gaua Island, or the Karua, a submarine volcano located in the caldera of Kuwae between Epi and Tongoa islands.
Vanuatu is rich of an exceptional nature: volcanos, coral seafloors, dream beaches, virgin forests… and all this under a tropical climate.

History

Named «New Hebrides» after James Cook, the archipelago has had a slow and discontinued colonization since its exploration by Europeans at the end of the 17th century until the end of the 19th century.
In 1906, French and British together established a Franco-British condominium, the condominium of New Hebrides. During the Sixties, the people of New Hebrides tried to gain more autonomy, and the independence was finally granted to them by the two colonizing nations, on the 30th of July 1980. The New Hebrides are now called Vanuatu (that could be translated as the « standing » country).

Languages

Vanuatu has three official languages: Bislama, English and French. The great wealth of Vanuatu lies in its impressive linguistic density, the most important on earth. For a population of more than 286,000 inhabitants, you can find at the very least 110 different languages, not counting the dialects.

Culture
The nakamal

The nakamal is an essential element of the culture of Vanuatu. Traditionally, it is a place where men meet together after work; they drink kava (a plant native to Western Pacific, related to pepper) and talk about local affairs, politics and other issues. Depending on villages and custom, women and children stay away. Men can meet under a tree or in a dedicated building. The village’s chief performs his mediation skills and renders his judgment. Thus the nakamal strongly helps the Vanuatu to be much more peaceful than its Melanesian neighbors. In an urban context, the word nakamal is now used to designate a kava bar; many of them can be found in Port-Vila.

Drawings in the sand

This original, ephemeral and complex tradition consists in drawings made in the sand. It is typical of the Vanuatu archipelago. These harmonious and geometric drawings are made by insiders. They are used as writings: it is a mean of communication between members of almost 110 linguistic groups and a mnemotechnic way to pass on rituals, mythological knowledge, and oral information about local history, agricultural techniques, craft or choreography. In 2008 sand drawings of Vanuatu have been placed on the UNESCO’s intangible cultural heritage list (originally proclaimed in 2003).

Other aspects of the Vanuatu’s culture

On the Pentecost Island, during the yams season, a spectacular customary event is held: the Gol Jump. After having built a 20-meter tower with branches, men and boys jump from the top and leap into the void. Their sole bindings are two lianas fixed around their ankles. The lianas are just a bit shorter than the tower height, meaning that the jumpers come very close to the ground. Once they have jumped, young men become adults.
On Mallicolo Island (Malekula), men dance while wearing masks made with molded earth put on a tree-fern roots framework. With the sound of bells made with nuts that they tie to their ankles, they celebrate the main customary events: births, circumcisions, graduations and funeral rituals.
On Gaua Island, women perform the «water music»; it is a percussion music played with movements and hand flapping on the water surface, in a pond, a river or the sea.

Traditions - Kastoms

The Bislama word kastom refer to everything that is customary, mainly Melanesian tradition. The custom rules social life, enhances respect, and maintains law and order in the community. Disputes can be settled peacefully, while trading pigs and mats. The force of the custom can be witnessed at every important event: wedding, funerals, circumcision, graduation. Songs and dances are inevitable. Inhabitants seek to perpetuate the traditions in order for the next generations to live in peace and harmony; nevertheless, these traditions have evolved with time (http://www.vanuatuparadise.com/en/island-by-island/discover-a-timeless-archipelago). Some villages-tribes, who are more respectful of traditions, limit the access to places, people, and objects. Other villages-tribes offer kastom shows for tourists, claiming the practices, techniques, stories and values of their ancestors: fire, cooking (grate, peel, wash, slice, cook...), lacing, music, dance, drawing on the sand, hunting...

Craft

Artistic production for rituals is not free; just a few insiders are allowed to carve, lace and/or create patterns. Different from an island to another, craft is very rich in Vanuatu. To a large extent, it translates ancestral life with objects of everyday usage or used during customary ceremonies. Craftsmen make wooden dishes, with the shape of stylized turtles, birds or fishes, which are dedicated for food preparation. They also make objects for ceremonial houses including kava dishes, and ceremonial axes. They make pestles, knives, puzzles, spears or bows. They also make masks, hairdressing, hats, body ornaments, and tattoos. Most sculptures represent human faces. You can find statues made in tree-fern roots, hard wood or stone, hard wood drums with slots (Tam-Tam), placed horizontally or vertically. Once present everywhere, pottery now can only be found in the west part of Santo. Women use their knees to mold and round the terracotta, to give it a bowl shape. Basketry is still very prevalent; women make mats, bags, belts or baskets with pandanus or coconut leaves.

Le Vanuatu


Sa géographie

La République de Vanuatu est un État de Mélanésie situé dans le sud-ouest de l'océan Pacifique, en mer de Corail. L'archipel est situé à 1 750 km à l'est de l'Australie, à 540 km au nord-est de la Nouvelle-Calédonie, à l'ouest des îles Fidji et au sud des îles Salomon.
Le Vanuatu se compose de 83 îles. Les deux uniques villes du pays sont Port-Vila, la capitale avec 44 039 habitants (recensement de 2009), située sur l'île Efate; et Luganville avec 13 156 habitants (recensement de 2009), située sur l'île d'Espiritu Santo.
La population totale au Vanuatu est de 286 429 habitants (2016).

Certaines îles volcaniques sont encore en activité, comme sur les îles de Tanna avec le volcan Yasur, d'Ambrym avec les volcans Marum et Benbow, d'Ambae avec le volcan Lombenben ou sur l'île de Lopevi avec le volcan du même nom. D'autres volcans sont endormis comme le mont Garet sur l'île de Gaua, ou le Karua, volcan sous-marin situé dans la caldera de Kuwae entre les îles d'Epi et de Tongoa.
Le Vanuatu est riche d'une nature exceptionnelle : volcans, fonds coralliens, plages de rêve, forêts vierges... et tout ceci sous un climat tropical.

Son Histoire

Nommé «Nouvelles-Hébrides» après James Cook, l'archipel a connu une colonisation lente et discontinue depuis son exploration par les Européens à la fin du XVIIè siècle jusqu'à la fin du XIXè siècle.
En 1906, les Français et les Britanniques fondèrent ensemble un condominium franco-britannique, le condominium des Nouvelles-Hébrides. Durant les années 1960, les Néo-Hébridais cherchèrent à obtenir davantage d'autonomie, et l'indépendance leur fut finalement accordée par les deux nations colonisatrices, le 30 juillet 1980. Les Nouvelles-Hébrides s'appellent désormais Vanuatu (qu'on pourrait traduire par «le pays debout»).

Ses langues

Le Vanuatu possède trois langues officielles : le bichelamar, l'anglais et le français. La grande richesse du Vanuatu réside dans son impressionnante densité linguistique, la plus forte de la planète. Pour une population de plus de 286 000 habitants, on ne compte pas moins de 110 langues différentes, sans compter les dialectes.

Sa culture
Le nakamal

Un élément essentiel de la culture au Vanuatu est le nakamal. Traditionnellement, c'est un lieu où les hommes se réunissent après le travail ; ils y boivent le kava (plante originaire du Pacifique occidental apparentée au poivre) et discutent des affaires locales, politiques et autres. En fonction des villages et de la coutume, les femmes et les enfants ne s'en approchent pas. Ce peut être sous un arbre, ou dans une construction réservée à cet effet. Le chef du village y exerce ses talents de médiation et y rend jugement. Ainsi le nakamal contribue fortement à ce que le Vanuatu soit plus paisible que ses voisins mélanésiens. Dans le contexte urbain, le mot nakamal est désormais aussi utilisé pour désigner des bars à kava, aujourd'hui nombreux à Port-Vila.

Les dessins sur le sable

Cette tradition originale, éphémère et complexe de dessins réalisés sur le sable est typique de l'archipel de Vanuatu. Ces compositions souvent harmonieuses et géométriques sont exécutées par des initiés. Elles servent d’écriture : c'est un moyen de communication entre les membres de près de 110 groupes linguistiques différents et un moyen mnémotechnique pour transmettre des rituels, des connaissances mythologiques, des informations orales sur l'histoire locale, les techniques agricoles, l'artisanat ou encore la chorégraphie. Les dessins sur le sable de Vanuatu ont été inscrits en 2008 sur la liste du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l'Unesco (originellement proclamé en 2003).

Autres aspects de la culture vanuataise

Sur l'île de Pentecôte, pendant la saison des ignames, se tient une manifestation coutumière spectaculaire : le saut du Gol. Après avoir construit une tour de branchages d'une vingtaine de mètres, hommes et enfants de sexe masculin se jettent dans le vide avec, pour seules attaches, deux lianes enroulées autour des chevilles. La longueur de la liane est à peine plus courte que la hauteur de la tour, en sorte que le plongeur frôle le sol. Une fois le saut effectué, les jeunes hommes rentrent dans l'âge adulte.
Sur l'île de Mallicolo (Malekula), les hommes dansent en portant sur la tête des masques faits de terre pétrie autour d'une armature de racines de fougères arborescentes. Au bruit de leurs clochettes fabriquées à partir de noix et qu'ils attachent à leurs chevilles, ils célèbrent les principaux événements coutumiers : les naissances, les circoncisions, les passages de grades et les rites funéraires.
Sur l'île de Gaua, les femmes exécutent la «water music», musique de percussion réalisée par des mouvements et des battements de mains à la surface de l'eau d'un bassin d'une rivière ou dans la mer.

Traditions - Kastoms

Le mot bichelamar kastom renvoie à tout ce qui est coutumier, de tradition principalement mélanésienne. La coutume régit la vie sociale, elle favorise le respect et le maintien de la loi au sein de la communauté. Les querelles peuvent ainsi être résolues de façon pacifique, par l'échange de cochons et de nattes. On retrouve la force de la coutume à chaque événement important : mariage, funérailles, circoncision, passage de grade. Chants et danses y sont incontournables. Si les habitants s’attachent à perpétuer les traditions pour que les générations futures puissent elles aussi vivre en paix et en harmonie, ces traditions ont forcément évolué avec le temps (http://www.vanuatuparadise.com/fr/d-iles-en-iles/un-archipel-hors-du-temps) Certains villages-tribus, plus respectueux des traditions, limitent l'accès aux lieux, aux personnes, aux objets. D'autres villages-tribus proposent comme attraction touristique des spectacles de kastom, revendiquant les pratiques, techniques, récits, valeurs de leurs ancêtres : feu, cuisine (râper, écorcer, laver, émincer, cuire...), tressage, musique, danse, dessin sur sable, chasse...

Artisanat

La production artistique à finalité rituelle n'est pas libre, seuls quelques initiés disposent du droit de sculpter, tresser ou créer certains motifs. Différent d’île en île, l’artisanat est resté très riche au Vanuatu. Il traduit, dans une large mesure, la vie ancestrale, à travers des objets d’usage courant ou utilisés lors des cérémonies coutumières. Les artisans confectionnent ainsi des plats en bois, en forme de tortues, d'oiseaux ou de poissons stylisés, dédiés à la préparation des aliments, des objets de maisons cérémonielles dont les plats à kava, haches cérémonielles. Ils fabriquent aussi des pilons, des couteaux, des casse-têtes, des lances ou des arcs. Mais également des masques, des coiffures, des chapeaux, des parures corporelles, des ornements corporels, des tatouages. La plupart des sculptures représentent des visages humains. On peut trouver des statues en racines de fougère arborescente, en bois dur ou en pierre ; des tambours à fente (Tam-Tam) de bois dur, placés horizontalement ou verticalement.
Présente partout autrefois, la poterie ne se rencontre plus aujourd’hui que sur la partie Ouest de Santo. Les femmes utilisent leurs genoux pour mouler la terre cuite, l’arrondir et lui donner une forme de bol.
La vannerie, elle, est toujours très répandue, les femmes fabriquant des nattes, des sacs, des ceintures ou des paniers à partir de feuilles de pandanus et de cocotier.