The foundation


The European-Vanuatu Foundation was created in September 2014 in Port Vila (Vanuatu). The European-Vanuatu Foundation is a public foundation incorporated under the laws of Vanuatu, and, more specifically, under the 2009 law regarding Foundations.The headquarters of The European-Vanuatu Foundation are located in Port Vila (Vanuatu), P.O. BOX 1276.

The European-Vanuatu Foundation’s purpose is to promote, develop and support projects, actions or programs which are favorable to the people of Vanuatu regarding health, education, arts, ecosystem and sustainable development and agriculture.

The Vanuatu Private Hospital

On December 1st, 2014, the Foundation widely contributed to the opening of a hospital in Port Vila (Vanuatu’s capital): VPH (Vanuatu Private Hospital). A family doctor, an E.R. Doctor, a nurse and a couple of Ni-Van work at the hospital. A gynecologist, an urologist, an otolaryngologist, an opthtalmologist and a psychologist provide medical services. The hospital has its own laboratory with a technician and a radiology room (exceptional in Vanuatu). Thus, people of Port Vila and Efate Island have access to medical facilities and treatments at lower cost.

In order to promote access to care for all Ni-Van, The European-Vanuatu Foundation plans to open a second HPV hospital on the largest island in Vanuatu Santo and to work collaboratively in different clinics on other islands. The goal is to provide material help to these clinics. All this for a non-profit purpose.

Website: www.vphospital.com

The Paul Gardissat's Collection

This is the reason why The European-Vanuatu Foundation has bought a large part of the «Paul Gardissat Collection» in order to rent it for shows and present the treasures of Vanuatu and its people.

The second reason of the purchase of the «Paul Gardissat Collection» by The European-Vanuatu Foundation is of cultural nature: to avoid the disappearance and dispersion of this superb collection, following the death of Paul Gardissat in 2013 and the sale offering by his creditors.

In 2015 the «GARDISSAT» brand was registered by the Foundation to avoid any forgeries or name hijacking.

After a long and serious task of inventory and restoration, The European-Vanuatu Foundation set a goal to exhibit the collection in collaboration with national museums of several countries around the world.

The objective is dual: on one hand, the Foundation wants to contribute to awareness of the culture and the values of Vanuatu, and promote the vast cultural richness of the archipelago through exhibits; on the other hand, through these events, to raise money to enable the development and the carrying-out of projects supported by The European-Vanuatu Foundation throughout the entire territory of Vanuatu.

La fondation


The European-Vanuatu Foundation a été créée en septembre 2014 à Port Vila (Vanuatu). The European-Vanuatu Foundation est une fondation publique constituée selon les lois du Vanuatu et plus spécifiquement selon la loi sur les Fondations de 2009. Le siège social de The European-Vanuatu Foundation est situé à Port Vila (Vanuatu), PO Box 1276.

Le but de The European-Vanuatu Foundation est de favoriser, développer et soutenir des projets, des actions ou des programmes favorables à la population du Vanuatu dans les domaines de la santé, de l’éducation, des Arts, de l'écosystème & développement durable et de l'agriculture.

Le Vanuatu Private Hospital

Le 1er décembre 2014, la Fondation a largement contribué à l’ouverture d’un hôpital à Port Vila (capital du Vanuatu) : VPH (Vanuatu Private Hospital). Un médecin généraliste, un médecin urgentiste et un couple de Ni-Van travaillent à l'hôpital. Un gynécologue, un chirugien urologue, un oto-rhino-laryngologiste et une psychologue tiennent des permanences. L'hôpital dispose de son propre laboratoire avec un laboratin et sa salle de radiologie (chose exceptionnelle au Vanuatu). Ainsi la population de Port Vila et de l'île d'Efaté peut se faire soigner et se faire suivre à moindre coût.

Afin de favoriser l'accès aux soins à tous les Ni-Van, The European-Vanuatu Foundation envisage d'ouvrir un deuxième hôpital VPH sur la plus grande île du Vanuatu Santo et de travailler en collaboration dans les différents dispensaires des autres îles. Le but est d'apporter une aide matérielle à ces dispensaires. Tout ceci dans un but non-lucratif.

Site: www.vphospital.com

La Collection Paul Gardissat

C'est pour cette raison que The European-Vanuatu Foundation a racheté une grande partie de la «Collection Paul Gardissat», afin de la louer pour la présenter, et à travers la collection présenter la richesse du Vanuatu et sa population.

La deuxième raison de l'achat de la «Collection Paul Gardissat» par The European-Vanuatu Foundation est d'ordre culturel : éviter la disparition et la dispertion de cette superbe collection suite au décès de Paul Gardissat en 2013 et de la mise en vente des pièces par ses créanciers.

En 2015, la marque «GARDISSAT» a été déposée par la Fondation dans le but d'éviter toutes contrefaçons ou détournement du nom.

Après un sérieux travail d’inventaire et de restauration, The European-Vanuatu Foundation s'est donnée comme objectif d’exposer la collection en collaboration avec des musées nationaux de plusieurs pays à travers le monde.

L’objectif est double. D’une part il s’agit de contribuer à faire connaître la culture et les valeurs du Vanuatu, de faire rayonner toute la richesse culturelle de l’archipel au travers de ces expositions. Et d’autre part il s’agit, au travers de l’organisation de ces manifestations, de recueillir des fonds nécessaires au développement et à la conduite de projets soutenus par The European-Vanuatu Foundation sur tout le territoire du Vanuatu.