Culture


Paul Gardissat (1939/2013)

Paul Gardissat was born in French Algeria in 1939. In 1963 he settled in New Hebrides (French-English condominium that will become the Vanuatu in 1980) and worked as a teacher. His profession brought him alternatively on Ambae, Banks, Santo and Malo Islands which allowed him to encounter the people, their traditions and customs.

During his whole life, he collected and saved significant objects related to the diversified Vanuatu culture.

From 1970 to 1980, Paul Gardissat created a recording studio (Sun Production) which would remain the only commercial studio of the country during all these years. He worked at Radio Vila from 1975 to 1987 and was the first one to open this media to traditional oral culture.

Paul Gardissat’s Collection

When Paul Gardissat died, his collection was put for sale by his creditors. To avoid the disappearance and dispersion of the collection, The European-Vanuatu Foundation decided to buy all the pieces that were not sold.

For the Foundation, the purpose is dual:

  • Rent the collection for shows and increase the awareness of the richness of Vanuatu and its people.
  • Raise money to develop and support expensive projects funded by the European-Vanuatu Foundation across Vanuatu.

The book

Contact Us
Download the brochure presenting the collection.

End of 2017, The European- Vanuatu Foundation published a book to present the collection :
Paul Gardissat's Collection Primitive Art Vanuatu/Collection Paul Gardissat Art Premier Vanuatu

Are you interested in the collection? Would you like to exhibit some pieces? Would you like to have information on the collection pieces? Please contact us.

PROJECTS

Exihbitions

The European-Vanuatu Foundation set a goal to exhibit the collection in collaboration with national museums of several countries around the world.

The objective is dual: on one hand, the Foundation wants to contribute to awareness of the culture and the values of Vanuatu, and promote the vast cultural richness of the archipelago through exhibits; on the other hand, through these events, to raise money to enable the development and the carrying-out of projects supported by The European-Vanuatu Foundation throughout the entire territory of Vanuatu.

Culture


Paul Gardissat (1939/2013)

Paul Gardissat est né en Algérie Française en 1939. En 1963 il s'installe aux Nouvelles-Hébrides (Condominium franco-anglais qui deviendra en 1980 le Vanuatu) et exerce la profession d'instituteur. Sa profession l'amènera tour à tour sur les îles d'Ambae, des Banks, de Santo et de Malo et lui permettra d'être en contact avec la population, ses traditions et ses coûtumes.

Durant toute sa vie, il prendra soin de réunir et de sauvegarder des objets significatifs de la variété culturelle vanuataise.

De 1970 à 1980, Paul Gardissat crée un studio d'enregistrement (Sun Production) qui restera le seul studio commercial du pays durant ces années. Il travaillera à Radio Vila de 1975 à 1987 et sera le premier à ouvrir ce media à la culture orale traditionnelle.

Collection Paul Gardissat

A la mort de Paul Gardissat, sa collection a été mise en vente par ses créanciers. Afin d'éviter la disparition et la dispertion de la collection, The European-Vanuatu Foundation décide de racheter la totalité des pièces qui n'ont pas encore été vendues.

Pour la fondation, l'objectif est double :

  • Louer la collection pour la présenter et faire connaître la richesse du Vanuatu et sa population.
  • Recueillir des fonds nécessaires au développement et à la conduite de projets soutenus par The European-Vanuatu Foundation sur tout le territoire du Vanuatu.

Le book

Nous Contacter
Téléchargez la brochure présentant la collection.

Fin 2017, The European- Vanuatu Foundation édite un livre pour présenter la collection :
Paul Gardissat's Collection Primitive Art Vanuatu/ Collection Paul Gardissat Art Premier Vanuatu

Vous êtes intéressés par la collection ? Vous désirez exposer certaines pièces ? Vous voulez des informations sur des pièces de la collection ? Contactez nous.

LES PROJETS

Expositions

The European-Vanuatu Foundation s'est donnée comme objectif d’exposer la collection en collaboration avec des musées nationaux de plusieurs pays à travers le monde.

L’objectif est double. D’une part il s’agit de contribuer à faire connaître la culture et les valeurs du Vanuatu, de faire rayonner toute la richesse culturelle de l’archipel au travers de ces expositions. Et d’autre part il s’agit, au travers de l’organisation de ces manifestations, de recueillir des fonds nécessaires au développement et à la conduite de projets soutenus par The European-Vanuatu Foundation sur tout le territoire du Vanuatu.